But I don’t know anything about Irish History!

intern

When most people hear that I intern for the Irish Studies Review, they wonder what Irish Studies modules I take. They’re often surprised to hear that I actually study Publishing & Creative Writing with no modules focusing on Irish Studies. Although I don’t study Irish Studies or similar modules, I have studied copywriting and text editing, as well History up to A Level standard.

Of course an interest in Irish Studies is a bonus, but I found that to intern at the journal editorial skills are the most desirable. In my degree, I have taken copywriting and text editing tests – passing both with over 95% – and have also been taught how to use BSI Proofreading Marks. Although I don’t use these skills for all my tasks at the journal, they do come in handy and look great on my CV.

With this in mind, I would suggest that if you want to intern for an academic journal, to widen your search into something you might not have previously considered or studied before – I’m sure most editors would be happy to have the extra help!

Leave a Reply

